Regular Meeting April 11, 2022

The Board of Directors of the Louisa-Muscatine CSD met in regular session on Monday, April 11, 2022 beginning at 6:00 p.m. Board members present included Scott Wilson, Carol Whittaker, Barbara Thompson, Bryce Hoben and Jeff Riggan. Also present were Supt. Mike Van Sickle, Chris Parkhurst, Aimee Wedeking and Amy Lantigua.

Call to Order/Approval of the Agenda

President Wilson called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. and the pledge of allegiance was recited. Whittaker moved and Hoben seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Public Hearing on the proposed 2022-2023 Certified Budget

President Wilson announced that it was the time and place designated for the hearing on the FY23 Certified Budget. There were no citizens present for the hearing. President Wilson closed the hearing and called for a motion Whittaker moved and Thompson seconded, to adopt the proposed budget as published with a tax rate of \$11.14682 per \$1000 of assessed valuation. The roll was called and the motion passed unanimously.

Public Hearing on the 2021-2022 Amended Budget

President Wilson announced that it was the time and place designated for the hearing on the FY22 Amended Budget. There were no citizens present for the hearing. President Wilson closed the hearing and called for a motion. Thompson moved and Hoben seconded, to adopt the amended budget as published. The roll was called and the motion passed unanimously.

Community Forum

No one was present to speak at community forum.

Consent Agenda

Hoben moved and Riggan seconded, to approve the consent agenda consisting of approval of the minutes of the March 16, 2022 regular meeting, the bills for approval and the March financial reports. Motion carried 4-0.

<u>Reports</u>

Reports were given by JH/HS Principal Chris Parkhurst, Elementary Principal Aimee Wedeking and Director of Student Success & Curriculum Amy Lantigua. Supt Van Sickle presented the Activities report. Wilson discussed highlights of the President's Workshop he attended.

Review and Approve 2021 Audit

Thompson moved and Riggan seconded the motion to approve the 2020-2021 Audit. Motion carried 5-0.

101 % Budget Guarantee

Director Whittaker moved to adopt the following resolution: RESOLVED, that the Board of Directors of the Louisa-Muscatine Community School District, will levy property tax for fiscal year 2022-2023 for the regular program budget adjustment as allowed under section 257.14, Code of Iowa. Riggan seconded and it passed unanimously on a roll call vote.

Graduation Requests

Whittaker moved and Thompson seconded to approve the graduating Class of 2022, pending successful completion of the requirements for graduation.

Austin Adams, Ryan Downey, Katelyn Diana Hoeg, Emily Kay Lerch, Zachery Paul Robertson, Robert T. Stanford, Jacob S. Back, Dalton W. Eagle, McKenna R. Hohenadel, Samantha Lynn Martinez, Dylan Schreiber, Abigail M. Steele, Jordan Tyler Brandon, Lily Ivy Fischer, Marissa Arline Holland, Dallas S. McAreavy, Owen R. Schreiner, Marissa Lynn Symmonds, Piper Nicole Brant, Shad Michael Fordyce, Gavin Hunt, Aleyna Nicole Mesa, Aidan Joel Sears, Grant Michael Sywassink, Victoria Hayden Briggs, Devon Rae Gillaspie, Brynn Jeambey, Destiney Nichole Miller, Bryce X. Shoppa, Grace Louise Terry,

Mercedes Donnamae Calderon, Choral Danae Hahn, Abigail Leigh Kemper, Morgan T. Nowak, Cameron Sue Shoultz, Annabelle B. Van Auken, Lillian Elka Churchwell, Stephen N. Hayes, Andrew Keniston, Dru Addison Raisbeck, Aubrey Jane Sneddon, Kaylee Leora Corbin, Victoria Linn Hearn, Kenna Jade Law, Chloe Michelle Ramer, Dominic Lange Solis, Jessica Morgan Day, Carol Elaine Hipshur, Evan Nicholas Lawrence, Brelynn McKinze Randall, Zeth Rayken Scott Spitznogle, Andon J. DeGroot, Preston Blake Hocke, MaKenah Breann Lawrence, Maverick Steel Reeves and Levi Clayton Staley. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of Construction Manager Agency

Supt Van Sickle reviewed the construction manager agencies. His recommendation was to table this vote until the next meeting. No motion made.

Personnel

Resignations: Hoben moved and Whittaker seconded to approve the following resignations: Thomas Wenzel, Food Service, Al Jordan, Head Bowling Coach and Kali Hills, JH Special Education Teacher. Motion carried 5-0.

Hirings: Hoben moved and Thompson seconded a motion to approve the following hirings: Ken Spielbauer: Halftime AD to include zero hours PE, Andrew Barger: Assistant High School Baseball Coach, Brandon Lessenger: Assistant Junior High Softball Coach, Matt Hills: Assistant Football Coach pending background check and Lora Earnest: Head Cross Country Coach. Motion carried 5-0.

Temp and Current openings were reviewed.

<u>Informational</u>

Supt. Van Sickle discussed classified pay/insurance information.

<u>Future Agenda Items</u>

Future agenda items included classified salary/insurance.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Whittaker moved and Hoben seconded to adjourn the meeting at 7:20 p.m. Motion carried 5-0.

Scott Wilson, President

Charles Domer, Board Secretary